0 Menu

LP - Metá Metá "MetaL MetaL"


Sold Out

Following the much acclaimed and successful Compacto “Alakorô”, we are very happy to present - for the first time on Goma Gringa - Metá Metá's sophomore LP "MetaL MetaL".

Formed by Juçara Marçal (vocal), Thiago França (sax) and Kiko Dinucci (guitar), Sao Paulo’s most sought after trio is accompanied in this opus by Marcelo Cabral (bass), Sergio Machado (drums) and Samba Sam (percussions).

As suggested by the title, those additions results in an electric, heavy and dense sound melting perfectly the spiritual and rhythmic foundations of the Afro-Brazilian religion Candomblé ancient chants into a dirty brew of psychedelic sambas, distorted jazz and afro-punk.

Listening to MetaL MetaL means to enter into a wild world where Samba, Jazz, Punk Rock, Afro Beat, Freeform Jazz, Afro-Bazilian traditions and Be-Bop are divided into pieces, mixed up and re-assembled into a unique and genuine harmonic construction as spiritual than edgy.

”What’s really compelling about this album is the way the band achieve a perfect balance between avant-garde boundary-stretching and a knack for memorable hooks and danceable grooves. The first really serious contender for album of the year thus far.”
Howard Male (The Independent - UK)

"Urgents and ecstatics songs, an euphoric chaos, as a reflection of the time.”
Les Inrockuptibles - FR

"Dense, abundant, spiritual and passionant, Metal Metal asserts itself as one of the most creative albums that we have been given to listen to since a long time.” Libération - FR

The cover, once more, received a special treatment. A beautiful 420gr red paper carefully silkscreened in golden ink on both side and simply fold in the middle, which turns her a double-sided cover so you can choose your favorite one. Artworks, naturally, are signed by Kiko Dinucci. Hand drawing on one side, woodcut on the other! Sweet!

Strictly limited to 300 copies! Don’t sleep!

A1. Exu (DP) - 1:48
A2. Oyá (Douglas Germano/Kiko Dinucci) - 5:23
A3. São Jorge (Kiko Dinucci) - 3:34
A4. Man Feriman (DP) - 7:40
A5. Tristeza Não (Alice Ruiz/Itamar Assumpção) - 2:14

B1. Rainha das Cabeças (Douglas Germano/Kiko Dinucci) - 3:51
B2. Cobra Rasteira (Kiko Dinucci) - 4:30
B3. Logun (Kiko Dinucci) - 7:58
B4. Orunmilá (Douglas Germano/Kiko Dinucci) - 4:04

▶ 2nd LP of São Paulo's most sought after trio finally available again on vinyl!

▶ Double sided silkscreened cover signed by Kiko Dinucci!

▶ Strictly limited to 300 copies!